July 2, 2012 | last updated July 2, 2012 10:01 am

Of Note

YMCA Honors Grobe

Ruth Grobe of Farmington recently received the 2012 Robert C. Knox, Jr. YMCA Distinguished Leadership Award from the YMCA of Greater Hartford — an award honoring the memory of the late Robert C. Knox, Jr., a Hartford insurance executive whose dedication helped the YMCA grow, prosper and fulfill its mission to serve others. The award is the YMCA of Greater Hartford's highest honor recognizing volunteers. Grobe is chair of the human relations committee for the Town of Farmington and is past chair of the Community Chest of the United Way.

CPA Society Elects Board

The Connecticut Society of Certified Public Accountants recently elected its board of directors for 2012-2013. New members include: president, Noelle A. Taddei, associate professor of accounting at Post University in Waterbury; president-elect, Camille Murphy, partner, Bailey Murphy + Scarano, LLC (Branford); treasurer, Vanessa E. Rossitto, partner, BlumShapiro (West Hartford); secretary, Brian J. Kelleher, partner, Fiondella, Milone & LaSaracina LLP (Glastonbury); member-at-large, Michael L. Kraten, president, Enterprise Management Corp. (Milford); member-at-large, Amber D. Tucker, manager, J.H. Cohn LLP (Glastonbury); member-at-large/advisory council chair, Michael J. Hanlon, principal, BlumShapiro (Shelton).

Air Museum Appoints Hayes

The New England Air Museum located at Bradley International Airport in Windsor Locks has appointed Gregory J. Hayes of United Technologies Corp. and Hamilton Sundstrand to its board of directors. Hayes has served as chief financial officer and senior vice president for UTC since 2008 and has been employed with the company since 1989.

Miller Named MPI Chapter President

Julia Miller, director of catering at the Connecticut Convention Center, was recently elected president of the Meeting Professionals International Connecticut River Valley Chapter board. Miller has been a member of the chapter for four years, serving on the board of directors for three.

Prete Elected to St. Francis Board

Timothy L. Prete has been elected to a two-year term on the board of directors of St. Francis Hospital and Medical Center. Prete is a founding member and serves as senior vice president-investments of The Aegis Group of Morgan Stanley Smith Barney, which specializes in nonprofit and wealth management consultative services nationally. Prete is a former president and current board member of The Hundred Club of Connecticut and assists numerous nonprofits with their donor and planned giving endeavors.

NorthStar Wealth Partners Recognized

NorthStar Wealth Partners LLC, an independent wealth advisory firm with several offices in Connecticut, was recently recognized as a top financial advisory firm by LPL Financial and named to LPL's Chairman's Club. NorthStar provides retirement, investment, business succession, estate, charitable giving, and financial planning advice, strategies and product solutions.

Most Popular on Facebook
Copyright 2017 New England Business Media