Univ. of Bridgeport flattens admin. structure

BY Joe Cooper

PHOTO | University of Bridgeport
PHOTO | University of Bridgeport
An overhead shot of the University of Bridgeport campus.
To curb overhead, the University of Bridgeport announced this week a consolidation of its administrative structure into three colleges and the merging of many of its dean posts.

School officials said administrators were divided among three colleges: Engineering, business and education; arts and sciences; and health sciences. The university's 14 deans, and their divisions, will be combined under three deans who oversee the colleges.

The simplified structure, school officials said in a statement, "relieves administrative bloat" as higher education institutions in Connecticut face financial scrutiny. The scrutiny, they said, results in the loss of funding that "should be directed toward students and faculty."

Significant savings will be used for salaries and benefits for faculty and staff and instructional technology support, the school said.

The independent and nonsectarian university currently has 400 full- and part-time faculty.