June 14, 2018
C-Suite Awards 2018

Meet HBJ's inaugural C-Suite Awards class

The C-suite can be a lonely place.

Executives who occupy corner offices are ultimately responsible for their company's performance, financial and otherwise. Those who excel in key decision-making roles often exhibit leadership qualities that make others buy into an organization's mission.

As part of Hartford Business Journal's first-ever C-Suite Awards, we recognize executives from the for-profit, nonprofit and governmental sectors who have made significant contributions to their companies. We've identified seven leaders in various C-suite categories — CEO, COO, CIO and CMO — who stood out for their commitment to excellence.

The winners include Elliot Joseph, the CEO of Hartford HealthCare who has transformed his organization into the state's second-largest health system. Another CEO winner is Rohan Freeman, founder of a growing Hartford engineering firm, Freeman Companies LLC.

Our two chief operating officer awardees — Kevin Grigg of Fuss & O'Neill and Kim Hawkins from HEDCO Inc. — have helped transform the day-to-day operations of their respective companies.

Meantime, our chief information officers — Leo Pellerin of the United Way of Connecticut and Scott Roberts from the town of South Windsor — have improved the connectivity between their organizations and clients or constituents.

Finally, Jeffrey Cohen, chief marketing officer of ImageWorks LLC, has helped transform his company into a digital marketing agency.

In terms of methodology, the business community was invited to submit nominees in several categories — CEO/President; Chief Financial/Operating/Administrative Officer; Chief Technology/Information/Security Officer; and Chief Marketing Officer.

The winners were chosen with the help of two independent judges — University of Hartford Barney School of Business Dean Martin S. Roth and Quinnipiac University Business School Dean Matthew O'Connor — and HBJ's editorial staff.

Please join us in congratulating our winners and all their accomplishments, which were recognized at a luncheon event June 12 at the Hartford Marriott. And if you have feedback on the award format or categories please let us know for next year's competition.

– Greg Bordonaro, Editor

Meet the inaugural winners

CEO/President, 100 or More Employees
Elliot Joseph

CEO/President, Less Than 100 Employees
Rohan A. Freeman

Chief Financial/Operating/Administrative Officer, 100 Or More Employees
Kevin Grigg

Chief Financial/Operating/Administrative Officer, Less Than 100 Employees
Kim Hawkins

Chief Technology/Information/Security Officer
Leo Pellerin

Chief Technology/Information/Security Officer
Scott Roberts

Chief Marketing Officer
Jeffrey Cohen

Most Popular on Facebook
Copyright 2017 New England Business Media