November 9, 2018

Aresimowicz, Ritter re-elected to House leadership posts

PHOTO | Contributed
PHOTO | Contributed
House Speaker Joe Aresimowicz (D-Berlin).

Democratic lawmakers on Thursday unanimously re-elected House Speaker Joe Aresimowicz (D-Berlin) and House Majority Leader Matt Ritter (D-Hartford) to lead the state House of Representatives.

The Democratic caucus selected the party leaders for second terms at a meeting Thursday night. Aresimowicz and Ritter will be formally re-elected by the House at the opening of the 2019 legislative session on Jan. 9, the same day Gov.-elect Ned Lamont will take office.

Aresimowicz was elected to represent the 30th House District, which includes Berlin and Southington, in 2004. He served four years as House majority leader before being named house speaker in 2017.

Aresimowicz held his 30th District seat Tuesday by defeating Republican Mike Gagliardi by 37 votes, according to unofficial results. There will be a recount on Tuesday, Nov. 13, as the final tally falls within the 0.5 percent of the total votes cast, state Democratic officials said Friday.

Ritter, a lifelong Hartford native, was elected to represent the Capital City's 1st House District in 2010.

On Tuesday night, Democrats made their first state legislative gains in a decade, expanding their majority status in the House and Senate and control all five congressional districts.

Free E-Newsletters

Sign up now for our daily and weekly
e-newsletters! Click Here

Today's Poll Should UConn build a $45 million ice rink in Storrs for its men’s and women’s hockey teams?<>
Most Popular on Facebook
Copyright 2017 New England Business Media