Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

May 6, 2019 C-Suite Awards 2019

C-Suite Awards highlight business excellence

Many ambitious professionals hope to one day reach the C-Suite, where they can be decision-makers who help shape an organization's future.

But success in business isn't simply measured by landing a CEO or CFO title. Instead, it's determined by what an executive does and accomplishes once they reach that higher pedestal.

HBJ's C-Suite Awards returns June 12

As part of Hartford Business Journal's second-annual C-Suite Awards, we recognize executives who have not only reached some of the highest levels in business, but also achieved major successes in leading their respective organizations.

We've identified six leaders in various C-Suite categories — CEO, CFO, CAO, CIO and CMO — from the for-profit and not-for-profit sectors who stood out for their commitment to excellence.

The winners include John Ciulla, president and CEO of Webster Financial Corp. and Webster Bank, who led his company to a record financial performance in 2018 — his first year as chief executive.

Another CEO winner is Kevin C. Leahy, who has nearly tripled the client base at Farmington's Connecticut Wealth Management since he co-founded the firm in 2010.

Mark Boxer, executive vice president and chief information officer at Bloomfield insurer Cigna, is using technology to tackle healthcare's most pressing challenges, while Goodwin College Vice President of Finance Edwin J. Meyer Jr. is helping the East Hartford-based not-for-profit school maintain fiscal stability as it continues to grow.

Rounding out our honorees is Masonicare Chief Administrative Officer Tracey LeMay, who has helped the Wallingford-based provider of healthcare and retirement-living communities for seniors manage its risks, and Roberta Wachtelhausen, ConnectiCare's chief sales and marketing officer, who played a key role in engineering a $180-million turnaround at the Farmington-based health insurer.

In terms of methodology, the business community was invited to submit nominees and the winners were chosen by HBJ's editorial staff.

Please join HBJ in congratulating our winners and all their accomplishments. They will be recognized at a luncheon event June 5 at the Hartford Marriott.

Greg Bordonaro | Editor


John Ciulla — Category: CEO of the Year, 100 or more employees

Kevin C. Leahy — Category: CEO of the year, fewer than 100 employees

Mark Boxer — Category: Chief Information officer of the Year

Edwin J. Meyer Jr. — Category: Chief Financial Officer of the year

Tracey LeMay — Category: Chief Administrative Officer of the year

Roberta (Bert) Wachtelhausen — Category: Chief Marketing Officer of the year

Sign up for Enews

Related Content


Order a PDF