Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

February 15, 2023 BIZ PEOPLE

Capital for Change names new chief executive 

Photo | Contributed Diane Smith

Capital for Change recently announced the selection of Diane Smith as its next chief executive officer following a national search.

Based in Wallingford, Capital for Change is a Community Development Financial Institution. It works with individuals, nonprofits, small businesses and public institutions. Its programs and products aim to increase access to affordable housing, energy efficiency and job opportunities for underserved communities.

Smith began her new role Jan. 9.

“I am truly honored and excited to join Capital for Change,” Smith said, in an announcement. 

Smith’s career spans more than three decades in public service. Her background includes working in the areas of planning and public policy, business recruitment, urban and regional development, program development and administration, housing development and marketing. 

Modifi Biosciences names new advisory board members

New Haven-based Modifi Biosciences has appointed eight leaders in the oncology and drug development industries to join its scientific advisory board.

The company is focused on DNA modification as a novel approach to target cancer.

Dr. Ranjit Bindra, a co-founder of Modifi Bio, said, “Our scientific advisory board members bring a wealth of expertise in medical oncology, drug development and early phase clinical trials, which will be critical as we move closer towards the clinic.” 

The new board appointments include:

Joseph Costello, professor of neurosurgery at the University of California San Francisco.

Vishwas Paralkar, chief scientific officer at Cybrexa Therapeutics. 

Dr. Manmeet Ahluwalia, deputy director, chief scientific officer, and chief of solid tumor medical oncology at the Miami Cancer Institute. 

Dr. Peter Glazer, chairman of the department of therapeutic radiology and professor of genetics at Yale. 

Dr. Jann Sarkaria, professor of radiation oncology at Mayo Clinic. 

Dr. Roger Stupp, Paul C. Bucy professor of neurological surgery and professor of neurology and medicine at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago.

Michael Dillon, who has served as chief scientific officer and head of research at IDEAYA Biosciences.

Patricia LoRusso, associate director for experimental therapeutics at Yale University.

Sign up for Enews


Order a PDF