Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

April 26, 2021

CCM launches committee to help municipalities allocate federal funds

Photo | HBJ File The Connecticut State Capitol.

The Connecticut Conference of Municipalities today announced the formation of a statewide public-private advisory committee designed to help municipalities administer funding from the $1.9 trillion American Rescue Plan.

In a statement, the organization said local governments will need some level of guidance when it comes to allocating and disbursing the expected influx of federal dollars.

“With the scale and depth of these unprecedented funds, CCM believes that establishing the [American Rescue Plan] Advisory Committee to assist towns and cities will provide an even greater return on these federal funds for local government,” said CCM Executive Director and CEO Joe DeLong.

According to DeLong, the advisory group will work with CCM member communities on a case-by-case basis to analyze and recommend uses for the stimulus money, as well as methods for keeping track of it.

Named to the 10-member committee were University of Connecticut finance and economics professor Fred Carstensen; Gian-Carl Casa, president and CEO of the Connecticut Community Nonprofit Alliance; Chris DiPentima, president and CEO of the Connecticut Business & Industry Association; MetroHartford Alliance Chief Business Investment Officer Gene Goddard; UConn real estate and finance professor John Glascock; Dale Graver, regional director at information technology services firm VC3; CBIA vice president Eric Gjede; Courtney Hendricson, vice president of partnerships at AdvanceCT; Connecticut Main Street Center CEO Patrick McMahon; and Brig Smith, general counsel for the city of Middletown and president of the Connecticut Association of Municipal Attorneys.

CCM officials said Connecticut’s cities and towns are expected to receive $2.55 billion, with $1.56 billion going to general governments and $995 million going to schools. 

Communities with over 50,000 residents will receive money directly from the U.S. Treasury Department, while those with a population under 50,000 will have money distributed to them by the state as a pass-through.

There is also a provision in the American Rescue Plan allowing states with no county-level government, like Connecticut, to receive money that would have been allocated to county administrations, according to CCM officials.

States and municipalities will have to provide periodic reports to the Treasury Department with a detailed accounting of how the federal money was used. Funds can be recouped by the Treasury Department if recipient governments do not comply with eligibility requirements, CCM said.

Sign up for Enews


Order a PDF