Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

May 22, 2020

HBJ wins 8 statewide journalism awards

Hartford Business Journal's editorial staff on Thursday won eight Excellence in Journalism awards from the Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists ( CTSPJ).

The awards were presented during CTSPJ's virtual award ceremony on Thursday afternoon. Since 1966, CTSPJ, a local division of the Society of Professional Journalists, has been aimed at improving, protecting and promoting journalism across the state.

HBJ received four first-place awards for the following stories:

Reporting series category: Examining Hartford’s high and inequitable tax structure; Greg Bordonaro, Matt Pilon, Sean Teehan

Data category: CT university endowments riding post-recession growth wave as tuition continues to rise; Sean Teehan, Matt Pilon

Arts and entertainment category: After two decades of financial challenges, The Bushnell eyes a debt-free existence; Frank Rizzo

Government category: CT’s biggest corporate incentive you’ve never heard of; Matt Pilon

HBJ earned two second-place awards:

Education category: Amid attempts to expand community-college access, current students struggle to graduate; Sean Teehan, Matt Pilon

Health category: With their costs under fire, long-term care hospitals push back, pivot; Matt Pilon

HBJ was also awarded two third-place awards:

In-depth category: Trying to avoid CT taxes by becoming a part-time resident? It’s harder than you think.; Greg Bordonaro

Investigative category: UConn Health research shows tens of thousands of CT residents faced medical-debt lawsuits; Matt Pilon

“Strong local business journalism is needed now more than ever and HBJ’s news team has been working around the clock to keep our readers informed during these trying times,” said HBJ Editor Greg Bordonaro. “This type of recognition is a testament to the important and high-quality work we do.”

HBJ's sister publication -- New Haven Biz, which is owned by New England Business Media -- also received five first, second and third-place awards.

View all of CTSPJ’s 2020 Excellence in Journalism award winners here.

Sign up for Enews

Related Content


Order a PDF