Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

November 6, 2019 BIZ PEOPLE

Nat. Academy of Medicine elects six Yale faculty

PHOTOS | Contributed Akiko Iwasaki

Six Yale faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), the organization announced Oct. 21 at its annual meeting.

The six faculty are among 100 new members elected by the organization to receive the honor, which recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service in the fields of health and medicine.

The Yale winners are:

• Nita Ahuja, the William H. Carmalt Professor of Surgery, chair of the Department of Surgery at the Yale School of Medicine, and chief of surgery at Yale New Haven Hospital. Ahuja is internationally recognized for her expertise in gastrointestinal cancers, including gastric, rectal, and pancreatic cancers, and for being a passionate advocate for mentorship of trainees, staff and faculty.

• Jorge E. Galán, Lucille B. Markey Professor of Microbiology, chair of the Department of Microbial Pathogenesis, and professor of cell biology. Galán studies the molecular mechanisms of pathogenesis of Salmonella and Campylobacter, which cause the majority of food-borne illnesses in the world.

• Akiko Iwasaki, whose research focuses on the mechanisms of immune defense against viruses at the mucosal surfaces. She is Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology, professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology, professor of dermatology, and an investigator for the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

• Rafael Pérez-Escamilla, professor of epidemiology & public health, director of the Office of Public Health Practice, and director of the Global Health Concentration at the Yale School of Public Health. The epidemiologist has launched multiple public health nutrition and food-security research programs globally.








David Schatz

• David Schatz, an immunobiologist who has made fundamental contributions to our understanding of the mechanisms that assemble and diversify the genes that encode antibodies and T cell receptors. Schatz is Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology, professor of molecular biophysics and biochemistry, and chair of Immunobiology.

• Nenad Sestan, the Harvey and Kate Cushing Professor of Neuroscience, professor of comparative medicine and of genetics and psychiatry, as well as executive director of the Genome Editing Center. The neurobiologist studies the molecular and cellular basis of brain development, exploring how neurons acquire distinct identities and form proper synaptic connections in the cerebral cortex, a part of the brain that is critical for cognition, perception and behavior.

* * *

Richard McCarthy

Richard McCarthy of Berlin, professor of computer information systems at Quinnipiac University, has been named the 2019 Computer Educator of the Year by the International Association for Computer Information Systems. The award recognizes individuals who have exceptional research and teaching skills, have made significant contributions to the information-systems community and have a national or international reputation. McCarthy, who joined the Quinnipiac faculty in 2001, has a doctor of business administration in information technology management from Nova Southeastern University. He also has an MBA from Western New England University and a BS in management information systems from Central Connecticut State University.


The Regional Water Authority (RWA) has named Premjith (Prem) Singh first vice president-chief information and digital officer, effective Nov. 12. Singh will lead the company’s technology and digital roadmap, reporting to RWA President and CEO to Larry Bingaman. Singh joins the RWA from National Grid, where he served as chief information officer and vice president of information technology. He holds a bachelor's degree in computer science and engineering from the University of Madras (India), and a master’s degree in management of technology from Fairfield University.

Sign up for Enews


Order a PDF