Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

June 17, 2013

SPJ honors London with FOI Award Girl Scouts elect 3 Emmys to NBC

Sherman D. London

Sherman D. London, a consultant with the Trumbull-based public relations firm Michael J. London & Associates, has been named this year’s recipient of the Helen M. Loy Freedom of Information Award by the Connecticut Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

The award honors a member of the public or an official who uses the state?s Freedom of Information laws to advance open government. It is named for the former chairwoman of the state’s Freedom of Information Commission and one of the original members appointed by then-Gov. Ella T. Grasso.

London, a Southbury resident, was a member of the Freedom of Information Commission from 1996 until this month, when his term expired. He was the commission’s longest serving member, having heard approximately 4,000 cases during his tenure.

He is a past president of the Connecticut Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists and, in 2007, was named to that organization’s Journalism Hall of Fame. A graduate of Rider College (now Rider University) in New Jersey, London spent about 40 years working as a reporter, columnist and editor at the Republican-American newspapers in Waterbury. When he retired in 1988 he was editor of the newspapers? editorial pages. He has been a frequent political commentator on radio and television.

Girl Scouts of Connecticut elected six first-time members to its Board of Directors at the organization’s recent annual meeting in North Haven.

New directors elected as members-at-large are Elizabeth Davis, dean of the College of Business and professor of management at the University of New Haven; Wendy Elberth, vice president of administration, Hartford Hospital; Leslie Karen Hammond, president, Southeastern CT Women’s Network; Denise Hebner, head of diversity and inclusion, UBS Americas; Shirley A. Jackson, professor of sociology, Southern CT State University and Diane Smith, anchor and senior producer for program development, C-TN — Connecticut Network.

One newcomer — Ed Lewis, senior managing director, CIGNA Corp. — joined the executive ranks. He was elected first vice president.

NBC Connecticut was honored with a Boston/New England region Emmy Award for ‘Continuing Coverage Within 24 Hours’ of the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown on Dec. 14. NBC Connecticut was the first broadcast news team on the scene.

The Academy also awarded NBC Connecticut feature reporter Jason Hawkins and photojournalists David Michnowicz and Daryl Vallez with a ‘Feature News Report/Light Series’ Emmy for their work on ‘The Feast’, a local food review segment. Also, photojournalist Dan Lee received an Emmy for his newsgathering expertise in the ‘Photographer of News with No Time Limit’ category.

The West Hartford station is owned by the NBC network.

Sign up for Enews


Order a PDF