Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

June 11, 2018

University of St. Joseph restructures schools

Photo | USJ West Hartford's University of St. Joseph

West Hartford’s University of St. Joseph said Monday it will consolidate its five schools into three in a move to decrease administrative costs and improve faculty collaboration.

USJ said it will integrate its five schools next fall into the the school of arts, sciences, business, and education; the school of pharmacy and physician assistant studies; and the school of interdisciplinary health and science.

Under the realignment, the school plans to group related fields and merge interactions between students in those departments. For example, nursing with nutrition or pharmacy with physician assistant studies.

Pairing the fields, officials said, will improve their inter-professional education, service and research. USJ said it worked on consolidating its academic departments and programs for more than a year.

“While retaining all of the five schools’ academic programs, faculty, and staff, and introducing four new majors – Computer and Data Science, Sport Management and Promotion, Bioinformatics, and Health Science – we are realigning programs into three schools to enhance the student experience and faculty collaboration and to decrease administrative costs,” said Dr. Michelle Kalis, USJ’s provost said.

The realignment also produced a new dean position to lead the school of interdisciplinary health and science, which was recently filled by Dr. Elizabeth Francis-Connolly.

Francis-Connolly earned her Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Michigan, and recently served as a professor of occupational therapy at the University of New England (UNH). She previously served as the dean of UNE’s Westbrook College of Health Professions.

Meantime, USJ’s school of arts, sciences, business and education and the school of pharmacy and physician assistant studies will be led by current deans Dr. Raouf Boules and Dr. Joseph Ofosu, respectively.

Sign up for Enews

Related Content


Order a PDF